• Image of Soundtracks for Takeshi Murata (CD)
  • Image of Soundtracks for Takeshi Murata (CD)

Soundtracks for Takeshi Murata (GLEX-1302) is the debut LP/CD of Kentucky-based electronic musician Robert Beatty under his given name. Beatty has long been a presence in the experimental underground as a member of Hair Police and more recently performing and recording solo under his Three Legged Race moniker. He is also well known for his visual art, which encompasses installation, drawing, video, and album artwork design for countless artists including Oneohtrix Point Never, Real Estate, Vybz Kartel, and Peaking Lights.

Soundtracks for Takeshi Murata collects Beatty's compositions for digital video glitch pioneer Takeshi Murata, produced between 2004–2007. Beatty's collaborative relationship with Murata has spawned some of his strongest work to date, and Glistening Examples is honored to present this music to the public for the the first time outside of screenings, museums, and galleries. Beatty has performed alongside Murata's work in New York, Chicago, Pittsburgh, and Beijing, where he performed several shows, including at the Ullens Center for Contemporary Art during the 2008 exhibition, "Stray Alchemists."

Includes "Cone Eater", "Untitled (Silver)", "Untitled (Pink Dot), and "Escape Spirit Video Slime".

Cover art by Takeshi Murata, layout and design by Robert Beatty, mastering by Jason Lescalleet.

Released November 11, 2013 via Glistening Examples.